EI faculty, staff, students receive recognition

Thursday, December 16, 2010

The EMS Energy Institute held its 2010 Celebration of Accomplishments banquet on Friday, December 10, 2010. Several faculty, staff and students received awards for their achievements and service to the Institute. Below is a list of the awards presented and their recipients. Congratulations to all!

EMS Energy Institute Participates in EMEX

Sunday, February 28, 2010

The EMS Energy Institute took part in the 2010 Earth and Mineral Sciences Exposition (EMEX) on February 27, 2010. Dr. Sharon Falcone Miller, director of the Office of Student Development at the EMS Energy Institute, was present throughout the day to talk to attendees and provide an overview of opportunities available through the Institute. In addition, several students currently working at the Institute were able to discuss their research experience and answer questions from interested attendees.

Third annual PA Home Energy Conference was Success

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

The 2010 PA Home Energy Conference was held on March 15 and 16 at the Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel. The event featured advanced training on building science, growing and sustaining business, and up-to-date code and technical news. Attendees learned to position their businesses for expansion in response to state and federal consumer incentive programs for making energy efficient home improvements.

André Boehman to receive award for outstanding technical paper

Thursday, April 1, 2010

André Boehman, professor of fuel science, has been chosen to receive the 2009 SAE John Johnson Award for Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines in recognition of a paper he co-authored, “An Experimental Investigation of the Origin of Increased NOx Emissions when Fueling a Heavy-Duty Compression-Ignition Engine with Soy Biodiesel.” The paper was published in the October 2009 issue of SAE International Journal of Fuels and Lubricants. SAE International will present him with the award on April 13.

Stripper Well Consortium Request for Proposals Released

Friday, April 2, 2010

The Request for Proposals for 2010 has been released. Proposals are solicited from the SWC Full and Supporting Members in the following focus areas:

Chunshan Song Wins the 2010 Henry H. Storch Award in Fuel Chemistry from ACS

Thursday, April 15, 2010

Chunshan Song, distinguished professor of fuel science in the Department of Energy and Mineral Engineering and Director of EMS Energy Institute at Penn State, was selected to receive the Henry H. Storch Award in Fuel Chemistry at the American Chemical Society (ACS) Spring 2010 national meeting held in March 2010. He received this prestigious award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to fuel science especially in the areas of clean fuels, catalysis, and CO2 capture and conversion research.

Yongsheng Chen Receives DARPA Young Faculty Award

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Yongsheng Chen, assistant professor of energy and mineral engineering and the Virginia S. and Philip L. Walker, Jr. Faculty Fellow, has received a 2010 Young Faculty Award from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). DARPA Young Faculty Awards are given to junior faculty conducting research in the areas of the physical sciences, engineering and mathematics.

WPSU broadcast - Inside the Gulf Oil Spill

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

WPSU takes an inside look at the Gulf Oil Spill. Host Patty Satalia talks with guests Turgay Ertekin, petroleum and natural gas engineer; Robert Brooks, aquatic wetlands ecologist; and R.J. Briggs, energy economist, to examine the April 20th accident.

Harold Schobert Elected to the 2010 Class of ACS Fellows

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Harold Schobert, professor of fuel science in the Department of Energy and Mineral Engineering and leading researcher in fuel chemistry in the EMS Energy Institute, has been elected to the 2010 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The ACS Fellows Program was created in 2008 to "recognize members for their contributions to the chemical sciences and outstanding service to ACS." Last year, ACS honored the inaugural class of 162 Fellows.