announcement

Coronavirus Updates

View Penn State information on COVID-19 >>

Energy Exchange 2014 Archives

Energy Exchange was a seminar series hosted by the EMS Energy Institute until 2016 as part of its outreach mission. The seminars focused on highly relevant energy topics especially in the area of fossil fuels. Energy topics discussed included new innovations in carbon dioxide utilization, clean coal, petroleum and natural gas, fuel cells, and more. Speakers included Penn State faculty as well as government and industry professionals.

Below is a list of 2014 presentations. Please contact Jennifer Matthews if you are interested in a specific presentation.

Overview of the Institute for Natural Gas Research at Penn State/Interacting with Industry
Monty Alger
Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Coal To Liquids: Can It Be Clean Energy?
Harold Schobert
Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Predicting the Behavior of CO2 Storage Reservoirs: Informing Early Decisions That Rely on Uncertain Natural Systems
George Guthrie
Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Utilization and Benefits of CNG and Field Gas in Operations
Brittany Thomas
Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Energy Policy in the European Union (Focus on Coal and Biomass)
Debo Adams
Friday, November 7, 2014

Emerging Trends on Vehicle Emissions and Efficiency
Timothy V. Johnson
Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Natural fractures in gas shale: What causes them?
Terry Engelder
Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Chemical Looping Technology – Perspective and Prospect in Carbon Management
L.-S. Fan
Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Development and Application
Rick Kerr
Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Impact of proposed federal policies on coal use and coal technology development in the U.S., including the President’s Climate Action Plan, Congressional initiatives, and federal RD&D for coal technology development
Shannon Angielski
Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Effects of Alternative Fuel on Emissions from Gas Turbine Engines
Thomas Litzinger
Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Advancing Sustainable Wood Energy in Pennsylvania
Michael T. Palko
Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Water Resource Management for Shale Energy Development
David Yoxtheimer
Wednesday, February 19, 2014

The Role of Research in the Coal Mining Industry: Reflecting Back and Looking Ahead
Joseph Hirschi
Wednesday, February 5, 2014

Redesigning Coalbed Methane Reservoir Engineering: A Reflective Analysis
Turgay Ertekin
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
 

EI Communications